AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Subscribe   Join us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter   YouTube   Vimeo   Pinterest   Follow us on Twitter   SmugMug    Google Plus

PADI 5-Star IDC

Beginning Scuba Course Schedules


Classroom/Pool Training at Underseas Scuba Center

Classroom/Pool Training at Underseas Scuba Center

The academic and confined water phase of Underseas Scuba Center’s beginning scuba course is available in week night or weekend formats.

Weekend Schedule:
Classroom and pool sessions run just one weekend. Classroom sessions meet Friday from 7:00 pm to 9:00 pm, and Saturday and Sunday from 9:00 am to 2:00 pm, at Underseas Scuba Center. Pool sessions meet Saturday and Sunday from 3:00 pm to 6:00 pm at local pool facility.

2014 Starting Dates  
Friday Evening, January 17 Friday Evening, July 18
Friday Evening, February 21 Friday Evening, August 15
Friday Evening, March 21 Friday Evening, September 12
Friday Evening, April 11 Friday Evening, October 17
Friday Evening, May 16 Friday Evening, November 21
Friday Evening, June 20

Friday Evening, December 12

2015 Starting Dates  
Friday Evening, January 16 Friday Evening, July 17
Friday Evening, February 20 Friday Evening, August 21
Friday Evening, March 20 Friday Evening, September 11
Friday Evening, April 17 Friday Evening, October 16
Friday Evening, May 15 Friday Evening, November 20
Friday Evening, June 19 Friday Evening, December 11



Weeknight Schedule:
Classroom and pool sessions run a total of three weeks. Classroom sessions meet Tuesdays from 6:30 pm to 9:30 pm at Underseas Scuba Center. Pool sessions meet Wednesdays from 7:00 pm to 10:00 pm at a local pool facility.

2014 Starting Dates  
Tuesday Evening, March 4 Tuesday Evening, August 5
Tuesday Evening, June 3 Tuesday Evening, September 2
Tuesday Evening, July 1 Tuesday Evening, November 4
2015 Starting Dates  
Tuesday Evening, March 3 Tuesday Evening, August 4
Tuesday Evening, June 2 Tuesday Evening, September 1
Tuesday Evening, July 7 Tuesday Evening, November 4


Classroom/Pool Training at Local Park Districts

Elk Grove Park District:
Classroom and pool sessions run a total of one weekend. Classroom sessions meet Friday from 7:00 pm to 9:00 pm, Saturday 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM and Sunday 9:00 AM to 2:00PM at the Park District; pool sessions also take place on Saturday from 4:00 pm to 7:00 pm and Sunday 3:00 PM to 6:00 PM at the Park District To enroll, call the Park District at (847) 437-9494.

2014 Starting Dates: TBD

Oak Brook Park District:
Classroom and pool sessions run a total of 3 sessions.. Classroom orientation session will meet Friday, February 21 from 7:00 pm to 9:00 pm at Underseas Scuba Center, Inc.; After that classroom and pool sessions take place on Saturday, March 1 and Sunday, March 2 at the Park District, from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. To enroll, call the Park District at (630) 645-9590.

 2014 Starting Dates: February 21

Schaumburg Park District:
Classroom and pool sessions run a total of six weeks. Classroom sessions meet Wednesdays from 6:30 pm to 8:00 pm at the Park District; pool sessions also take place on Wednesdays evenings at the Park District, from 8:00 pm to 10:00 pm. To enroll, call the Park District at (847) 490-2505.

2014 Starting Dates
Wednesday Evening, January 22
Wednesday Evening, April 09
Wednesday Evening, June 18
Wednesday Evening, September 17
Wednesday Evening, November 5


Open-Water Training Dives

Following academic and confined-water training, divers participate in two days of open-water training to complete requirements for certification. Options include our trips to Cozumel and other diving destinations, local open-water training dives at Haigh Quarry or Pearl Lake — or you can complete your training at the resort destination of your choice, if you already have a trip planned.

Underseas Scuba Center Group Trips: Several times a year, Underseas Scuba Center conducts five-day/four-night group trips to Cozumel. This is a great opportunity to complete your four required training dives and get in another six knock-your-socks-off wall and drift dives on top of that. You can also complete your open-water training requirements on any of our trips to most destinations. A list of available dates appears below.

Haigh Quarry and Pearl Lake: From May through November, one of the options available for completing open water training requirements is to join us for a weekend at nearby Haigh Quarry near Kankakee or Pearl Lake near South Beloit.

  • Both sites are approximately one hour to one and one half hours from the store. (You can download a map from our “Find Us” page.)
  • Open water training begins promptly at 8:00 am on Saturday and Sunday, and lasts until approximately 1:00 pm both days.
  • There is a $20/day diver admission fee to get into either site ($10/day for non-divers at Haigh Quarry; $8/day at Pearl Lake).
  • November Haigh Quarry Weekend requires additional drysuit training at additional cost.

 

Days 2014 Dates Location
Thursday-Friday February 14-18 Cozumel
Saturday-Sunday May 10-11 Haigh Quarry
Thursday-Friday May 15-19 Cozumel
Saturday-Sunday June 14-15 Haigh Quarry
Saturday-Sunday June 28-29 Pearl Lake
Saturday-Sunday July 12-13 Haigh Quarry
Saturday-Sunday July 26-27 Pearl Lake
Saturday-Sunday August 9-10 Haigh Quarry
Saturday-Sunday August 23-24 Pearl Lake
Saturday-Sunday September 6-7 Haigh Quarry
Saturday-Sunday September 20-21 Mermet Springs-Drysuit
Thursday-Friday September 25-29 Cozumel
Saturday-Sunday September 27-28 Pearl Lake
Saturday-Sunday October 11-12 Haigh Quarry
Saturday-Sunday October 25-26 Haigh Quarry
Thursday-Friday December 4-8 Cozumel


Referral

If you already have vacation travel planned, we can help you arrange for open-water training at your destination, and provide you with the necessary referral paper work.

If you have questions pertaining to any aspect of diver training, contact us by phone, fax or e-mail. We will be happy to answer them.


Join Our Mailing List!
Sign up to receive both our print
and electronic mailings


Mailing List Policy

Download a map to the store

Download a map to the pool locationspool locations

PADI eLearning

Download a map to the open water locations

    Underseas Scuba Center, Inc. • (630) 833-8383 • This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Copyright © 2014 Underseas. All rights reserved. Website by Under Watercolours.